Why is Ireland not a kingdom

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland was created in 1801 from the merger of the Kingdom of Great Britain (which was formed in 1707 from the merger of the kingdoms of England and Scotland) with the Kingdom of Ireland. The merger had become possible after the Irish Parliament (in which only Protestants were represented) had decided a year earlier that Act of Union 1800 agree and dissolve yourself.

In the Unification Treaty it was agreed that Ireland would send more than 100 MPs to the British Parliament in the Palace of Westminster. In addition, the emancipation of the Catholics was planned. The implementation was, however, by King George III. prevented. He argued that by equating Catholics he would break his coronation oath (the British monarch is also head of the Anglican Church).

In 1829 Daniel O’Connell succeeded through legal proceedings in finally forcing the British government to implement Catholic emancipation. However, his campaign to reverse the unification failed. Later on, politicians like Charles Stewart Parnell tried to establish autonomous self-government in Ireland (Home Rule) introduce; Ireland should remain part of the United Kingdom.

The separation of Ireland from the United Kingdom

In 1919 the Irish MPs in Dublin called an independent Irish parliament called Dáil Éireann, with the chairman Éamon de Valera as head of state-designate. The Anglo-Irish War that followed lasted until 1921. In December 1922, 26 Irish counties finally left the United Kingdom on the basis of the Anglo-Irish Treaty and formed the Irish Free State, which was given the status of a Dominion within the British Empire. Six counties in the Ulster region remained with the kingdom and formed the state of Northern Ireland. The state name was retained until 1927 when it was changed to the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

See also

Source reference