What would a good German family name be

Federal Republic of Germany

Listen to article (© bpb)
Federal Republic of Germany is the official name for the state of Germany.

The Federal Republic of Germany is a federal state, a democratic state, a constitutional state, a welfare state and a republic.

The Federal Republic of Germany today consists of 16 federal states
  • Bavaria
  • Baden-Wuerttemberg
  • Berlin
  • Brandenburg
  • Bremen
  • Hamburg
  • Hesse
  • Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania
  • Lower Saxony
  • North Rhine-Westphalia
  • Rhineland-Palatinate
  • Saarland
  • Saxony
  • Saxony-Anhalt
  • Schleswig-Holstein
  • Thuringia
The Federal Republic of Germany was founded on May 24, 1949.

From 1939 to 1945 there was war in Germany and the world:
This war is called: The Second World War.
Germany started the war.
The US, UK, France and the Soviet Union won the war.
That is why they were also called victorious powers.

After 1945 the victorious powers divided Germany into four zones of occupation.
Each victorious power controlled a zone.

The USA, France and Great Britain have united their zones into one state.
This state was called "Federal Republic of Germany".

From 1945 to 1990 Germany was divided.
The "Federal Republic of Germany" was one of two German states.
The other state was called the "German Democratic Republic". A shorter name is "DDR".
Germany has been reunited since 1990.
The time of the "German division" was over.

All of Germany is now called "Federal Republic of Germany".

Until 1990 Bonn was the capital of the Federal Republic.
Berlin has been the capital of the Federal Republic of Germany since 1991.

Back to the home page: simply POLITICS. Lexicon in simple language